The first issue of The Visitor was published in January 1914 by the Division of Agricultural Education in the College of Agriculture at the University of Minnesota. The inaugural issue explains that at a recent conference of “teachers in agriculture in the public high schools of Minnesota” a need was articulated for “some means of intercommunication that each might know something of what the others are doing. This would enable them to unify and standardize the work in the State more rapidly and to give each community the benefit of the good things done elsewhere, as well as to avoid failures by taking advantage of the experience of others…” To that end the Division of Agricultural Education began publishing The Visitor.
It began as a monthly publication, delivered September through May to “the superintendents and the teachers of agriculture, home economics, and manual training in the high and graded schools of the State receiving special aid for industrial work, to county superintendents, principals of consolidated schools, and others.” It was available free of charge, and no advertising was accepted.
The Visitor became a quarterly publication in October 1933.
NOTE: Some issues are not full text searchable due to the fragile nature of the originals that were scanned for this Digital Conservancy collection. If you wish to schedule a visit with University Archives to see original issues, please use the contact form available on the University Archives website.